1997 GMC running lights

Ask our auto mechanics for help to all your GMC truck questions.
boogster65
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 4:22 pm

1997 GMC running lights

Unread post by boogster65 » Mon Sep 01, 2014 4:35 pm

I have no running lights when I turn the lights on. I checked all the fuses I could find and they all check good.
Truck is a 1997 K3500 GMC.


User avatar
carriedi
Posts: 2266
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Oregon

Re: 1997 GMC running lights

Unread post by carriedi » Mon Sep 01, 2014 5:27 pm

you should have power all the time at the PRK LMP (#9, 20amp) fuse in the dash fuse panel. Power goes through that fuse and to an orange wire to the headlight switch. At the headlight switch it turns to a brown wire and goes to the parking lights. Follow the wires and see where the power stops.
Browse "SIMILAR TOPICS" At The Bottom Of This Page.

Dan
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 8:35 pm

Re: running lights

Unread post by Dan » Wed Jul 01, 2015 9:18 pm

When either door is opened, the 4wd, cruise control, and high beam light icons go on and will turn off in about a minute, but will turn on again when the motor is started. The truck seems to be ok while driving, it's shifting properly etc. but the RMP gauge is way high but the motor is not racing and the speed odometer seems to be at least 10 MPH slow.

User avatar
carriedi
Posts: 2266
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Oregon

Re: running lights

Unread post by carriedi » Wed Jul 01, 2015 11:29 pm

you should have your instrument cluster scanned and checked out
Browse "SIMILAR TOPICS" At The Bottom Of This Page.

Dan
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 8:35 pm

Re: running lights

Unread post by Dan » Fri Jul 24, 2015 7:16 pm

I took the truck to a GM dealer and they charged me $110.00 to tell me the instrument cluster needed to be replaced, at a cost of $610.00. A YouTube video makes it look like it is real easy to replace the instrument cluster and one can be bought at a junk yard for under $100.00.
Is it really that easy? Or is there programming that needs to be done for the cluster to work properly? Or something else that needs to be done at a GM dealer?

User avatar
carriedi
Posts: 2266
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Oregon

Re: running lights

Unread post by carriedi » Fri Jul 24, 2015 10:45 pm

it's pretty simple to remove and install the instrument cluster. and getting one from the junk yard would be fine. There won't be any reprogramming needed usually but the mileage reading will be from the previous vehicle.
Browse "SIMILAR TOPICS" At The Bottom Of This Page.

Beginnermechanic
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:19 pm

doesnt drive past 30

Unread post by Beginnermechanic » Fri Sep 02, 2016 10:32 pm

06 envoy was driving then all of a sudden it doesnt drive past 30 miles... I have to stop in order to drive..

User avatar
carriedi
Posts: 2266
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Oregon

Re: doesnt drive past 30

Unread post by carriedi » Sat Sep 03, 2016 1:10 pm

did the check engine light come on? Did you get a notification of reduced power? Sounds like you might have a problem with the drive by wire system. Need more information...
Browse "SIMILAR TOPICS" At The Bottom Of This Page.

mcharlet
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:05 pm

had the oil changed

Unread post by mcharlet » Thu Feb 23, 2017 4:37 pm

It happened about 2 weeks after I had the oil changed could that have caused it?

Post Reply New Topic
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post