pontiac grand prix

Buick Regal, Century and Park Avenue as well as the Rendezvous and Lesabre.
Ask our auto mechanics for help to all your Buick questions now.
Post Reply New Topic
chadwagner
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 9:16 am

pontiac grand prix

Unread post by chadwagner » Mon Jun 09, 2014 9:19 am

I took a supercharger lower intake manifold heads fuel pump and wire harness with computer and fuse box from a 97 gtp and put them on my 99 grand prix gt I'm having wire issues running lights stay on when key is not in also idling very rough could be a bad fuel injector but can't get readings from computer I'm going to get a harness from a 99 gtp and see if that helps . Wondering if anyone has done this and what problems they had or tips they can give


User avatar
carriedi
Posts: 2265
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Oregon

Re: pontiac grand prix

Unread post by carriedi » Mon Jun 09, 2014 10:23 am

I am just looking at the fuel gauge circuit and I see that the 97 gtp the fuel level sender in the tank sends the signal through the purple wire to the instrument cluster connector #1 pin D.

the dash on the 99 gt shows that the fuel level sender sends the signal out on the purple wire to connector #2 pin 70 on the PCM. The wire on the instrument cluster for the fuel level is still connector #1 pin D but it is an orange wire that goes to the pcm connector #1 pin 3.

so if this circuit is different there may be more circuits that don't match up with your cluster
Browse "SIMILAR TOPICS" At The Bottom Of This Page.

chadwagner
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 9:16 am

Re: pontiac grand prix

Unread post by chadwagner » Mon Jun 09, 2014 11:21 am

Will a 99 harness work or will I have the same problem because its not a gtp.

User avatar
carriedi
Posts: 2265
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Oregon

Re: pontiac grand prix

Unread post by carriedi » Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:08 am

you may have the same problem because the instrument cluster may be wired differently

have you tried using your original computer? check into having it reprogrammed to work with the supercharger. this way it will still work with all the other components in your car.
Browse "SIMILAR TOPICS" At The Bottom Of This Page.

Post Reply New Topic